60° Franz Gertsch – the man who painted in other dimensions

Hello my 360°  Followers

Today I want to present to you one of the first arists who inspired me a lot – Franz Gertsch-.

I saw one of his exhibitions around the year 2000, so quite a long time ago.

Despite this long time, he always remained in my head. I remember that the whole gallery was filled with these huge pieces of art.

From 1969 to 1978 he created large-scale photorealistic paintings which is the period that faszinates me most.

Nevertheless I would love to show you some of the art work he made and talk a littel bit about him.  (I just want to mention, the picture you see are ALL PAINTED)

The monumental work “Medici” of 1971 was one of the main attractions of the Documenta 5 in 1972 which are all devoted to realism and his way of playing with forms of hyper-realism to photo-realism.

Franz Gertsch is a swiss painter who is born in 1930 in Bern, Switzerland. In 1972 he participated in Documenta 5 in Kassel, 1978, 1999 and 2003 at the Biennale in Venice.

He also painted famous people like here, the Rock musician Patty Smith.

One thought on “60° Franz Gertsch – the man who painted in other dimensions

  1. Sono dipinti ad olio o acrilico su tela impressa (cioè dipinti su gigantografie fotografiche) come dichiara lo stesso autore dei dipinti!

Leave a Reply

